Clyburn and Stevens Launch Democratic Manufacturing Working Group

March 18, 2021
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Today House Majority Whip James E. Clyburn (SC-06) And Representative Haley Stevens (MI-11) Launched The House Democratic Manufacturing Working Group To Examine Key Issues For Strengthening The American Manufacturing Sector. 

In The Wake Of A Global Pandemic, The Working Group Will Aim To Drive Economic Recovery And Ensure That Manufacturers, Especially Small And Medium Firms, Can Compete Globally.

Additionally, The Working Group Will Explore Efforts To Increase Supply Chain Security, Worker Training, Well-Paying Jobs, And Environmental Sustainability.

“History Has Shown Us What Is Possible If We Invest In Industry And Innovation,” Said Majority Whip Clyburn. “American Manufacturers Built The ‘Arsenal Of Democracy’ During World War II, Birthed Nuclear And Renewable Power, Placed A Man On The Moon, And Launched The Information Superhighway. Now Is Not The Time For Our Nation To Fall Behind In Manufacturing The Technologies Of The Future. As We Work To Recover From A Devastating Pandemic, We Must Rebuild A Leading Manufacturing Economy. That Is Why I Am Pleased To Co-Chair The House Democratic Manufacturing Working Group With Congresswoman Stevens To Prioritize Our American Manufacturing Industry.”

“I Am Absolutely Thrilled To Launch The House Democratic Manufacturing Working Group With Whip Clyburn,” Said Rep. Stevens. “During The COVID-19 Pandemic, Manufacturers In Michigan’s 11th District And Across The Country Stepped Up To Meet The Industrial Call To Action, Retooling Their Production Lines To Make Medical Supplies That Our Doctors, Nurses, And Other Essential Workers Needed. Just As They Did When They Built The Arsenal Of Democracy During World War II, Michigan’s Best-In-Class Manufacturing Workforce Created The Products Our Nation Needed In A Moment Of Crisis. Manufacturers And The Hardworking Americans They Employ Are The Backbone Of Our Economy And When We Invest In Manufacturing, America Succeeds.”


The House Democratic Manufacturing Working Group Will Collaborate With Key Stakeholders To Restore And Transform American Manufacturing, Protect Supply Chains, And Ensure That Domestic Manufacturing Can Compete And Lead In A 21st Century Economy.

The Three Major Areas Of Focus Will Include:

  • Workforce Development, Economic Recovery, And Access To Capital
  • Climate And Sustainability
  • Trade, Access To Markets, And The Export-Import Bank

See One-Pager On The House Democratic Manufacturing Working Group Here And A Full List Of The Working Group’s Members Below:

Collin Allred (TX-32)

Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)

James Clyburn (SC-06), Co-Chair

Lou Correa (CA-46)

Bill Foster (IL-11)

John Garamendi (CA-03)

Jimmy Gomez (CA-34)

Brian Higgins (NY-26)

Marcy Kaptur (OH-09)

Ro Khanna (CA-17)

Ron Kind (WI-03)

Raja Krishnamoorthi (IL-08)

Ann Kuster (NH-02)

John Larson (CT- 01)

Susie Lee (NV-03)

Joe Morelle (NY-25)

Frank Mrvan (IN-01)

Grace Napolitano (CA-32)

Marie Newman (IL-03)

Chris Pappas (NH-01)

Scott Peters (CA-52)

Tim Ryan (OH-13)

Mary Gay Scanlon (PA-05)

Terri Sewell (AL-07)

Haley Stevens (MI-11), Co-Chair

Bennie Thompson (MS-02)

Lori Trahan (MA-03)

Lauren Underwood (IL-14)

Marc Veasey (TX-33)

Bonnie Watson Coleman (NJ-12)

Susan Wild (PA-07)

John Yarmuth (KY-03)